LandlordDates
Not legal advice. This is a free reference compiled from official government sources. Laws change and local details matter. Confirm every deadline with the official source or a licensed attorney before you rely on it.

Last verified: · Confidence: high

Newark, NJ landlord deadlines

City rules for Newark, which add to New Jersey statewide rules and federal rules. Official site: ecode360.com.

Build a dated calendar for Newark

Local rules (Newark)

Annual rental unit registration with Office of Rent Control; certificate of habitability before renting Verified

Deadline: Every year from the registration date

Register every rental unit with Newark's Office of Rent Control each year, and do not rent a vacant unit until it is registered and has a certificate of habitability; give tenants a copy of the certificate.

Applies to: any number of units · Layer: Newark, NJ · Topic: Rental registration and licensing

Who it covers: All existing and future dwelling units incl. short-term rentals (exemptions: public housing, transient hotel/motel, commercial, qualifying new construction/vacant/rehab, certain subsidized units). Fee: $50 plus $10 per unit annually. Amend within 20 days of changes. Municipal taxes/water/sewer must be current. Separate from (and in addition to) the state N.J.S.A. 46:8-28 landlord registration.

"The Rent Control Board shall require registration of all existing and future dwelling units, including short-term rentals, with the Office of Rent Control or designee."
ecode360.com
"Registration shall be completed on an annual basis."
ecode360.com
"No unrented unit shall be rented unless and until the rental unit is registered and a certificate of habitability is issued in accordance with this chapter."
ecode360.com
"Annual Registration; $50 plus $10 per dwelling unit."
ecode360.com

Notes: Newark Code §19:2-9.8 and fee schedule. The code does not state a fixed calendar due date. Adds to NJ state registration. Newark Code Ch. 19:2 (Rent Control) as published on ecode360, amended through Ord. 6PSF-B (5-20-2026). newarknj.gov DocumentCenter PDFs (landlord registration form, FAQ, registration ordinance) returned HTTP 403 to curl.

Last verified 2026-10-20 · Confidence: high · Status: verified · Report a correction

City inspection of each rental unit every 3 years or at change of occupancy Verified

Deadline: Every 3 years from the last inspection; also: change in occupancy

Starting with the next yearly registration after May 2026, allow the City to inspect each rental unit at least once every three years or whenever the occupancy changes; a failed inspection blocks the certificate of habitability.

Applies to: any number of units · Layer: Newark, NJ · Topic: Rental inspections and certificates

Who it covers: All registered rental units; lead-based paint inspection included for pre-1978 dwellings under §16:3-20. $50/unit inspection fee; no inspection fee for owner-occupied units. Inspections must be by the City's authorized inspectors.

"With the next yearly registration after the adoption of this section of the Rent Control Ordinance, the owner shall permit the City to inspect each rental unit at least once every three years or upon a change in occupancy of the unit."
ecode360.com
"Failure of owner to renew every three years or upon change of tenant: $100 fee per unit until registration is updated."
ecode360.com

Notes: §19:2-25 (added 5-20-2026). Parallels the NJ state lead-safe 3-year/turnover cycle. Newark Code Ch. 19:2 (Rent Control) as published on ecode360, amended through Ord. 6PSF-B (5-20-2026). newarknj.gov DocumentCenter PDFs (landlord registration form, FAQ, registration ordinance) returned HTTP 403 to curl.

Last verified 2026-10-20 · Confidence: high · Status: verified · Report a correction

Rent increase: 30 days' written notice to tenant and Rent Regulation Officer; capped at CPI, max 4% Verified

Deadline: At least 30 days before the rent increase takes effect

Give the tenant and the Rent Regulation Officer written notice at least 30 days before a rent increase. Annual increases are limited to the CPI change (never above 4%) and are barred if the unit isn't registered or in substantial compliance.

Applies to: any number of units · Layer: Newark, NJ · Topic: Rent increase notice

Who it covers: Units covered by Newark rent control. Increases only at lease expiration/termination of periodic tenancy, once per 12 months, and only if registered and in substantial compliance.

"Any landlord seeking a rental increase pursuant to this section shall give the Rent Regulation Officer and the affected tenant written notice of the proposed increase at least 30 days in advance."
ecode360.com
"In no case shall the allowable rent increase exceed 4%."
ecode360.com

Notes: §19:2-3.1, 3.2. Overrides/adds to NJ state law (state has no rent cap). Newark Code Ch. 19:2 (Rent Control) as published on ecode360, amended through Ord. 6PSF-B (5-20-2026). newarknj.gov DocumentCenter PDFs (landlord registration form, FAQ, registration ordinance) returned HTTP 403 to curl.

Last verified 2026-10-20 · Confidence: high · Status: verified · Report a correction

New Jersey statewide rules that also apply

New Jersey statewide rules
RuleDeadlineConfidence
Return deposit plus interest, with itemized deductions, within 30 days after tenancy endsWithin 30 days after move-outmedium
Written notice of bank/account details within 30 days of receiving depositWithin 30 days after the lease startsmedium
Pay or credit deposit interest annually (lease anniversary or January 31) with annual noticeEach year on the lease anniversary, or every January 31 if you told the tenant in writing you use that schedulemedium
Landlord registration statement for 1-2 unit non-owner-occupied rentals (municipal clerk); amend within 20 days of changesFile before renting (no eviction allowed while unregistered); amend within 20 days after any change; notify tenants within 7 days of filing an amendmentmedium
Register 3+ unit buildings with DCA Bureau of Housing Inspection; certificate of registration filed annuallyEvery year from the registration datemedium
Smoke/CO alarm compliance certificate before each new tenancy (1-2 family)Before the unit is leased / before a change of occupancy (new tenant)low
Lead-based paint inspection/lead-safe certification: every 3 years or at tenant turnover (pre-1978)Every 3 years from the last lead safe certification; also: tenant turnover unless a lead-safe certificate (valid 2 years) is still validmedium
Lease notice and periodic notices about window guards (multiple dwellings)Ongoing requirement with no fixed datemedium
Rent increase requires terminating the lease with a written notice to quit and notice of increaseServe written notice to quit and notice of rent increase before the current lease term ends; exact lead time not stated in the snapshotted guidemedium
One day's notice for code-required inspections/repairs (multiple dwellings)Before entering to inspect or make code-required repairs (at least 1 day before)medium

Federal rules that also apply

Federal rules (all states)
RuleDeadlineConfidence
Lead-based paint disclosure and EPA pamphlet before lease signing (pre-1978 housing)Before the tenant is obligated under the lease (before signing / before accepting an offer to lease)high
Signed lead disclosure attachment with lease; keep for 3 yearsKeep the signed disclosure for at least 3 years from the lease start; the date shown is the earliest you may discard ithigh
Report rental income/expenses on Schedule E with Form 1040Due April 15, 2027 with your 2026 Form 1040; if that falls on a weekend or legal holiday, the next business daymedium
2026 estimated tax payment #1 due April 15, 2026Due April 15, 2026high
2026 estimated tax payment #2 due June 15, 2026Due June 15, 2026high
2026 estimated tax payment #3 due Sept. 15, 2026Due September 15, 2026high
2026 estimated tax payment #4 due Jan. 15, 2027Due January 15, 2027high
File and furnish Form 1099-NEC for 2026 contractor payments of $2,000+Due January 31, 2027 (for 2026 payments); if that falls on a weekend or legal holiday, the next business dayhigh

Same topics elsewhere